How to Become a Private Investigator in South Carolina
A private investigator is a person who performs investigation services. They may be used for both civil and criminal proceedings. Their services are essential to a number of South Carolina businesses. Private investigators must meet certain standards to obtain a license to work in the state.
What are the 3 tools of criminal investigator?
To become a private investigator in South Carolina, a person must first complete the required training. This can be obtained through SLED-approved programs or on-line. After the training is completed, the applicant must submit an application to the state for continuing education credits.
In addition to meeting these requirements, a person must also be at least 18 years old. They must have a minimum of two years of experience and at least 6,000 hours of paid investigative experience. Licensed private investigators must document twelve hours of continuing education every twenty-four months.
Before obtaining a license to practice as a private investigator in South Carolina, PIs must also undergo a background check. If a PI is found to have any felony convictions, the PI will not be allowed to receive a license.
An applicant for a private investigation license in South Carolina must be an American citizen. If a company or corporation is involved, it must designate a corporate officer as the applicant. It must also include a surety bond of at least $10,000.
The SLED will evaluate the duties of the applicant’s private investigation agency and if they are capable of performing the tasks that are required of a private investigator. The license will then be issued.